THETIS ISLAND COMMUNITY ASSOCIATION 2022 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Sunday, May 7, 2023 - 1 p.m. Forbes Hall Community Centre

(While it is held in 2023, this meeting reviews the finances and activities from 2022, and is referred to as the 2022 AGM)

Chair: Ann Dickie

Nominations Chair: Wendy Hinsperger

- 1. Call to order and Welcome to Members: President Ann Dickie
- 2. Confirmation of Quorum: Quorum was confirmed.
- 3. Territorial Acknowledgement: Ann Dickie
- 4. Addition to Agenda: Membership committee report added.
- 5. Adoption of Agenda: Approved
- 6. Approval of minutes of 2021 Annual General Meeting June 4, 2022: Motion to adopt the minutes: Marjan Jackman, seconded by Terry Martin. Carried.
- 7. Treasurer's Report
 - a. Approval of Financial Statement Ron reviewed the highlights of the Financial Statement. There was discussion regarding some of the Fund Balances as shown. Motion to approve the Financial Statement: David Reay, seconded by Terry Martin. Carried with one vote opposed Virginia Lamb.
 - b. Review of Operational and Hall Expansion budgets Ron reviewed both budgets.
- 8. Presidents' Report Ann Dickie. Full report here.
- 9. Committee Reports
 - a. Membership Don Sinclair reported that as at December 31, 2022 there were 156 families, 62 singles for a total of 374 voting members. As at April 30, 2023 there were 162 families, 62 singles for a total of 386 voting members. Full report here.
 - b. <u>Communication & Engagement Committee</u>- Ellen Rush reported that the role of the committee is to encourage and engage the membership as well as to fundraise. The Committee includes Ellen Rush, Ann Dickie, Don Sinclair and Teresa Moore. *Full report here*.

<u>Art & Display Committee</u>- Ellen Rush reported that the Committee includes Mary Forbes, Carol Sowerby, Susan Unger and Ellen Rush. The Committee is responsible for sourcing both loaned and purchased art for display at Forbes Hall Community Centre. *Full report here*.

<u>Merchandise-</u> Ellen Rush reported that the merchandise program started in 2018. Since then, the gross sales have been \$38,000. Thetis Island Merchandise has been useful as gifts or acknowledgement to various individuals or groups. *Full report here*.

<u>Garden Committee</u> – Don Sinclair reported that last year's Plant Sale raised \$400 for the purchase of plants. The committee's role is to manage the various gardens and ground areas around the Hall. *Full report here*.

<u>Food Services</u> – Don Sinclair listed the various events held throughout the year and thanked all the volunteers who work on the committee. Full report here. <u>Library</u> – Librarian Celine Valestrand reported that the library continues to run smoothly with Friends of the Library volunteers, in rotation, opening the library

Saturdays from 10-1 and Sundays from 1-4. Georgina Maule has been opening the library each Monday from 10-1 since last fall. Full report here.

<u>Quarterly</u> -Veronica Shelford, Quarterly editor, reported that the Q has moved to an online version with printed copies available for a paid subscription. *Full report here.*

<u>Website</u> -Ann Dickie showed a sample page from the new website. The site will be up and running in the next few months. *Full report here*.

- **10.** Report from the TICA appointee to the Thetis Island Community Fund TICF President Tricia Hunter thanked Ann for her apology statement. She gave details of the Fund's activities for the year and reported that the fund has balance of \$144,878 *Full report here.*
- 11. Election of Officers and Directors: The election of directors was conducted by Wendy Hinsperger. There were four open positions and all four current directors agreed to stay on. There were no nominations received prior to or at the meeting. The following were elected by acclamation: Marjan Jackman, Colleen Kasting, Teresa Moore, Ellen Rush

The 2023-24 Executive	
President	Ann Dickie (term 2022-2024)
Vice President	Don Sinclair (term 2022-2024)
Treasurer	Ron Bannister (term 2022-2024)
Secretary	Teresa Moore (term 2023-2025)
IT Coordinator	Marjan Jackman (term 2023-2025)
Grants Coordinator	Collen Kasting (term 2023-2025)
Merchandise CoordinatorEllen Rush (term (2023-2025))	

12. Adjournment: With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 2:25 p.m.